Department of Physics & Astronomy

Awards and Prizes

The Department, College, and University recognizes student excellence through a number of awards and prizes; physics and astronomy students also regularly win prestigious external awards.

Provost's Scholarship

The Provost's Scholarship reduces the out-of-state tuition/fees to the in-state tuition/fees for one year for outstanding new graduate students; only a few are awarded each year in the whole university.

  • 2012: Eric Sansone
  • 2011: Riley Williams

  • Maxwell Scholarships

    Maxwell scholarships are awarded to graduate students in the College of Science & Engineering.

  • 2019: Sojin Han & Viviane Costa
  • 2017: Sauraj Jha
  • 2014: Bruce Laughlin
  • 2013: Bruce Laughlin and Victor Rodriguez
  • 2012: Ali Shayegan and Diana Madera
  • 2011: Casey Moore

  • Achievement Rewards for College Scientists (ARCS)

    The ARCS Foundation provides scholarships (currently $10,000) to academically outstanding United States citizens studying to complete their degrees in science, medicine and engineering.

    • 2019/20: Caitlin Kepple
    • 2017/18: Wendy Crumrine
    • 2016/17: Shervin Sahba
    • 2015/16: Shervin Sahba
    • 2013/14: Arthur Adams
    • 2011/12: Scott Shermer
    • 2010/11: Patrick Dunn
    • 2009/10: Greg Bolloten
    • 2008/09: Greg Bolloten and Kelsey Clubb
    • 2007/08: Faustin Carter
    • 2006/07: Aisha Hunte, Liliana Lopez, and Jack Young

    Michael and Greta McKinney Scholarship

    This departmental scholarship (currently $5000) is awarded annually to a rising undergraduate senior in Physics & Astronomy.

    • 2019: Kevin Fillhouer, Katelyn Hernandez ($2500 each)
    • 2018: Hari Bhatt, Jeirus Jose, Michael Scalzi ($2000 each)
    • 2017: Brandon Gunn
    • 2016: Megan Tangonan
    • 2015: Ryan Vaught

    Department Research Fellowship

    This departmental fellowship (currently $2000) recognizes graduat excellence in research in Physics & Astronomy, and is awarded annually.

    • 2015/16: Kristian Chung and Justin Wittrock ($1000 each)

    Peter Chau Fellowship

    This one-time fellowship ($1000) honors the memory of Peter Chau, and recognizes graduate excellence in research in Physics & Astronomy.

    • 2015/16: Manavjot Singh

    Marcy Research Fellowship

    This departmental fellowship recognized graduate excellence in research in Physics & Astronomy, and was awarded annually (discontinued after 2015).

    • 2014/15: Peter Chau
    • 2013/14: Geev Nahal
    • 2012/13: Sam Tsitrin
    • 2011/12: no award
    • 2010/11: Samy Kamal and Srikar Srinath
    • 2009/10: Kim Litwin and James Osborne
    • 2008/09: John Brewer
    • 2007/08: Matt Giguere

    Eden Academic Excellence Award

    The Eden Award recognizes and rewards B.S. Chemistry and B.S. Physics majors for excellent performance in upper-division or advanced courses required in the major program.

    • Fall 2019: Kevin Fillhouer, Andrew Garcia, Katelyn Hernandez, Vincent Hoey, Hamzah Kahn, Nicolas Provenzano, Michael Sanchez, Lily Traktman
    • Fall 2018: Miguel Mancillas
    • Fall 2017: Cameron Wong, Brandon Gunn
    • Fall 2016: Brandon Gunn
    • Spring 2016: Catherine Alviar, Christopher Batters, Eduardo Palacios, Bowen Yu
    • Fall 2015: Sean Barulich, Noah Scandrette, Roy Sfadia
    • Spring 2015: Ho Chan, Conrad Nowak, Dylan Pounds, Daniel Steckhahn, Ryan Vaught, Jiangyan Wu
    • Fall 2014: Javier Barahona, Amirfarhad Izadi, Connor Poland, David Robinson, Graham Siggins, Jiangyan Wu
    • Spring 2014: William Conley, Trevor Kelly, Colton Martin, Stephen Nenni, Connor Poland, David Robinson, Graham Siggins, Darius Visher
    • Fall 2013: Javier Barahona, Drew Bischel, Amirfarhad Izadi, Jordan Jo, Stephen Nenni, Erik Norman, Darius Visher
    • Spring 2013: Drew Bischel, Timothy Gushue, Stephanie Lauber, Nicholas Mathis, Erik Norman, Kathleen Shreve, Taylor Womble-Dahl
    • Fall 2012: Seth Gossage, Timothy Gushue, Christian Hansen, Brian Leung, Wu Li Leung, Nicholas Mathis, Kathleen Shreve
    • Spring 2012: Seth Gossage, Christian Hansen, Zachary Johnson, Brian Leung
    • Fall 2011: Philip Cala, Drake Cannan, Yingquan He, Mayra Lopez-Thibodeaux, Yann Ly, Victor Rodriguez, Sebastian Rozo
    • Spring 2011: Drake Cannan, Daniel Cuneo, Victor Rodriguez
    • Fall 2010: Alex Miller, Howard Nguyen, Matthew Salazar
    • Spring 2010: Daniel Cuneo, Alex Miller, Howard Nguyen, Steve Pehrson, Matthew Salazar
    • Fall 2009: Mary Rose Marcaida, Kazue Matsuyama
    • Spring 2009: Raymundo Becerra, Kazue Matsuyama, Steve Pehrson, Karina Roitman, and Masimi Yoshihara
    • Fall 2008: Karina Roitman, Jason Smith, and Masimi Yoshihara
    • Spring 2008: Daniel Shuldman and Elliot Fuller
    • Fall 2007: Bart Gasiewski, Elliot Fuller, Fred Bates, Jamie Molaro

    AAPT Outstanding TA Awards

    The award is for a free membership in AAPT for one year.

    • 2016: Jack Dillon, Justin Wittrock
    • 2015: Daniel McKeown, Manavjot Singh
    • 2014: Priyanjoli Mukherjee
    • 2012: Scott Shermer
    • 2011: Greg Romine
    • 2010: Patrick Dunn, Andrew Fittingoff, Darrel Lim
    • 2009: Kim Litwin, Polin Yadak
    • 2008: Michelle Krok









    SF State Home